social linkedin box blue 32
social facebook box blue 32
social twitter box blue 32
social facebook box blue 32




IIT DLSlab group Feb2016

From left to right, front to back: Job Ledezma, Marco Camurri, Claudio Semini, Bilal Ur Rehman, Andreea Radulescu, Michele Focchi, Roy Featherstone, Marco Frigerio, Romeo Orsolino, Josephus Driessen, Felipo Polido, Alex Posatskiy, Dmitry Dorezyuk,  Yifu Gao and Carlos Mastalli.  Unfortunately Jose Colmenares and Victor Barasuol could not be present for the group picture. February 2016.

DLS lab members


Claudio Semini
(Team leader)

foto focchi250

Michele Focchi


Marco Frigerio


Victor Barasuol


Bilal Ur Rehman


Andreea Radulescu


Marco Camurri 
(PhD student)


Carlos Mastalli
(PhD student)

31a413b6aab5d7616d8fb97efdb5a676 250

Yifu Gao
(PhD student)


Romeo Orsolino 
(PhD student)

Jose Colmenares

Jose Colmenares
(Software Engineer)

IMG 20160130 151446~2

Alex Posatskiy 
(Senior Technician)


Felipe Polido
(Software Engineer)





Roy Featherstone

Jesus Ortiz


Nikos TsagarakisFerdinando CannellaGustavo Medrano-Cerda  and  Prof. Darwin Caldwell.

Supporting technicians of Advanced Robotics Department

Marco Migliorini, Stefano Cordasco, Phil Hudson (electronics)

Gianluca Pane and Giuseppe Sofia (mechanics)

Alessio Margan (software)


Stéphane Bazeille was a Post-doc from 2011 until 2015. He is now a Post-doc at Ecole des Mines de Nantes, Equipe Robotique, 4, rue Alfred Kastler - B.P. 20722, F-44307 Nantes, France. His main research activity is now focus on the perception of the environment on underwater robots in the FET - European Project subCULTron.

Jake Goldsmith moved to Italy and began working at the IIT, as the Senior Design Engineer on the  HyQ project  in summer of 2011. During his time there he has made countless improvements to the current robot design, developed supporting technologies and worked tirelessly towards to realisation of the HyQ²Max. In October 2015, he moved to Boston Dynamic Inc as design engineer, Boston, USA.

Ioannis Havoutis was a senior postdoctoral researcher and the head of Locomotion group of the Dynamic Legged System Lab from 2013 to 2015. He mainly contributed to a planning and control framework for quadrupedal locomotion in challenging terrain. In July 2015, he moves to Idiap Research Institute as researcher.

Jonas Buchli was the team leader of the HyQ project from 8/2010 to 8/2012 and considerably contributed to the following areas of the project: torque control, impedance control, rigid body inverse dynamics control, locomotion control and planning, software etc. In September 2012 he founded the Agile & Dexterous Robotics Lab at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich, Switzerland. In July 2013 we delivered a copy of HyQ, called HyQ-blue, to his lab in Zurich.

Alumni - PhD

Hamza Khan completed his PhD that he successfully defended in April 2015 with the title "MiniHyQ- Development of a Lightweight Highly-Dynamic Hydraulic Quadruped Robot" (see publication list below). In June 2015, he joined Prof. Sir Alfred Cuschieri's Group as a Postdoctoral Research Assistant at the Institute for Medical Science & Technology (IMSaT), University of Dundee, Scotland.

Thiago Boaventura
did his MSc research in the HyQ group in 2009 and stayed in the group for his PhD that he successfully defended in April 2013 with the title "Hydraulic Compliance Control of the Quadruped Robot HyQ" (see publication list below). In June 2013 he joined the Agile & Dexterous Robotics Lab at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zurich, Switzerland as a postdoctoral researcher.

Alumni - Masters (& next destination)

Pham Nguyen (2015).
Alexander Winkler (2013-2014), PhD student at ADRL, ETH Zurich, Switzerland.
Francesco Rovida (2013), PhD student at University of Copehange, Denmark.
Anis Meguenani (2013), PhD student at ISIR, UPMC, Paris, France.
Asif Arain (2012), PhD student at MR&O, Obrero University, Obrero, Sweden.

Alumni - Visitors (& affiliation)

Job Angel Ledezma Pérez (2016).   Phd student at the Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil. 
Guido Tournois (2015). Delft University of Technology.
Hiroaki Kuwahara (2015). Toshiba corporation, Japan. 
Tomoo Yoneda (2015), PhD student at Ritsumeikan University, Kyoto, Japan.
Satoshi Kitano (2014), PhD student at Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan.
Luca Castangia (2014), PhD student at University of Parma, Parma, Italy.

Last Updated on Friday, 13 October 2017 09:56


IIT's website uses the following types of cookies: browsing/session, analytics, functional and third party cookies. Users can choose whether or not to accept the use of cookies and access the website.
By clicking on further information, the full information notice on the types of cookies used will be displayed and you will be able to choose whether or not to accept cookies whilst browsing on the website.

Try our new site and tell us what you think
Take me there